FOURTH SESSION

1972

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 4th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

WEDNESDAY, 22ND NOVEMBER, 1972

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### <u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37)

#### Elected Ministers (12)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture (Absent - on leave) The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications (Absent - on leave) The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information, Culture and Youth The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government Appointed Ministers (7) The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General (Absent) The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education (Absent) The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade Dr. the Honourable  $\lambda$ .F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development (Absent)

The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

#### Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade
- Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, and Communications

Other Members (14)

```
Mr. J.N. Aaron
Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip
Mr. K. Bancroft
Mr. N.J. Bissember
Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.
Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue
Mr. E.F. Correia
Mr. M. Corrica
Mr. M. Corrica
Mr. R.J. Jordan
Mr. R.J. Jordan
Mr. S.M. Saffee
Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman
Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.
Mrs. L.E. Willems
```

Members of the Opposition (23)

People's Progressive Party (17)

```
Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition
Mr. Ram Karran
Mr. R. Chandisingh
Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker
Mr. E.M.G. Wilson (Absent - on leave)
Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip
Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.
Mr. M.Y. Ally (Absent)
Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.
Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.
Mr. R. Ally
Mr. Balchand Persaud
Mr. Bhola Persaud
Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. (Absent)
Mr. L.A. Durant
Mr. V. Teekah
```

<u>United Force (3)</u>

Mr. M.F. Singh Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. J.A. Sutton

<u>Independents (3)</u>

Mr. R.E. Cheeks (Absent) Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco

# OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

### PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

## ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Mr. Hoyte for that day's sitting, and
- (b) Dr. Ramsahoye for four weeks from 22nd November, 1972.

## PUBLIC BUSINESS

## MOTION

# <u>ITEM 1</u> - <u>MOTION TO APPROVE OF GOVERNMENT'S POLICY ADUMBRATED</u> <u>IN THE PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS</u>

Assembly resumed the debate on the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly approves of the Government's Policy adumbrated in the President's Address for the present Session of Parliament which was made to the Assembly on Tuesday, the 14th of November, 1972.

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, the Minister of State for Agriculture, Mr. M.F. Singh, Mr. Teekah, Mr. Chan-A-Sue and Mr. Stoby spoke to the motion.

### SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

### RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Miss Ackman, Mr. Ram Karran and the Prime Minister spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

### ADJOURNMENT

At 6.45 p.m., on a motion by the Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, the 23rd of November, 1972.

s. NARAIN Speaker

P \RLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 23rd November, 1972.