FOURTH SESSION

1972

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 7th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

THURSDAY, 30TH NOVEMBER, 1972

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37)

Elected Ministers (12)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister (Absent)(on leave Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister

of National Development and Agriculture (Absent - on leave)

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications

The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information, Culture and Youth

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House (Absent - on leave)

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health (Absent - on leave)

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service

The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development (Absent - on leave)

The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government

Appointed Ministers (7)

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General (Absent)

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs (Absent)

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education (Absent -

on leave)

The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade

Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development (Absent)

The Honourable 5.5. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Absent - on leave)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Other Members (14)

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman (Absent)

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition (23)

People's Progressive Party (17)

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker (Absent) Mr. E.M.G. Wilson (Absent - on leave)

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. (Absent)

Mr. L.A. Durant

Mr. V. Teekah

United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Independents (3)

Mr. R.E. Cheeks (Absent)

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNUUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to

- (a) Mr. Ramsaroop from 30th November to 14th December, 1972, and
- (b) Mr. D.A. Singh, Miss Baird, Mr. S.S. Naraine and Mr. Stoby for that day's sitting

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

(1) By the Minister of Mines and Forests:

Petroleum (Prospecting and Winning)(Amendment)
Regulations 1972 (No. 25), made under
section 4(1) of the Petroleum Ordinance,
Chapter 199, on the 17th of November, 1972,
and published in the Gazette on the 25th of
November, 1972.

(CMF: 18/26/4)(Circulated)

(2) By Mr. Ram Karran, Chairman, Public Accounts Committee:

Report of the Public Accounts Committee of the National Assembly of Guyana on the Accounts of the Country for the years 1962 to 1965 and the Reports of the Director of Audit thereon.

(PARL: 5/6/A/2)(Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second Reading

LOCAL AUTHORITIES (POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS) BILL 1972 - Bill No. 12/1972 published 22.11.72

The Minister of Home Affairs moved the second reading of the ♥ollowing Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS OF COUNCILLORS OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND FOR PURPOSES CONNECTED THEREWITH.

Mr. Ram Karran, Mrs. DaSilva and Mr. Hamid spoke to the motion.

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud concluded his speech.

The Minister of Local Government and Mr. Sutton spoke to the motion.

Mr. Lall was speaking to the motion when the time agreed for the adjournment of the sitting was reached.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.32 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Information, Culture and Youth, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Friday, the 1st of December, 1972.

3. NAMAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1st December, 1972.