FOURTH SESSION

1972

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 8th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 1ST DECEMBER, 1972

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

<u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37)

<u>Elected Ministers (12)</u>

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister (Absent - on leave)	
Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of	
National Development and Agriculture (Absent - on leave)	
The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture	
The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications	
The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security	
The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information,	
Culture and Youth	
The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader	
of the House (Absent - on leave)	
The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health	
The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs	
The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service	
The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community	
Development (Absent)	
The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government	
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
Appointed Ministers (7)	
The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and	
Attorney-General (Absent)	
•	
The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs (Absent)	
The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests (Absent)	
The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education (Absent - on	
leave)	
The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade (Absent)	
Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic	
Development (Absent)	
The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and	
Reconstruction	

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade
- Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth
- Mr. C.E. Wights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Other Members (14)

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. N.J. Bissember Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. M. Zah**eeru**ddeen, J.P. Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition (23)

People's Progressive Party (17)

```
Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition
Mr. Ram Karran
Mr. R. Chandisingh
Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker (Absent)
Mr. E.M.G. Wilson (Absent - on leave)
Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip
Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.
Mr. M.Y. Ally
Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.
Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent)
Mr. R. Ally
Mr. Balchand Persaud
Mr. Bhola Persaud
Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. (Absent)
Mr. L.A. Durant
Mr. V. Teekah
```

United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. J.A. Sutton (Absent - on leave)

Independents (3)

Mr. R.E. Cheeks Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Miss Baird and Mr. Sutton for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Second and Third Readings

LOCAL AUTHORITIES (POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS) BILL 1972 Bill No. 12/1972 published 22.11.72

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR THE POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS OF COUNCILLORS OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND FOR PURPOSES CONNECTED THEREWITH.

Mr. Lall concluded his speech.

Mr. Bhola Persaud, Mr. R. Ally and Mr. Balchand Persaud spoke to the motion.

Mr. M.F. Singh was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. M.F. Singh concluded his speech.

 $\ensuremath{\,^{\rm Mr.}}$ Cheeks and the Leader of the Opposition spoke to the motion.

At 5.45 p.m. the proceedings were interrupted to enable the Minister of Information, Culture and Youth to move the suspension of Standing Order No. 9(1) and (2).

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO. 9(1) and (2)

The Minister of Information, Culture and Youth moved the suspension of Standing Order No. No. 9(1) and (2) to enable the sitting to continue beyond 6.30 p.m. without interruption, if necessary, until the completion of the proceedings on the Local Authorities (Postponement of Elections) Bill 1972. Mr. Ram Karran spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

RESUMPTION OF PROCEEDINGS ON BILL NO. 12/1972

The Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the second reading of the Local Authorities (Postponement of Elections) Bill 1972.

The Minister of Works and Communications spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

The Bill was then read a second time.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee to consider the Bill clause by clause.

In Committee

<u>Clauses 1 to 5</u> were <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

<u>Clause 6</u> The following amendments by Mr. M.F. Singh were put and <u>negatived</u>:

- (i) <u>Insertion</u> of a full stop after the word "thereto" in the fourth line of subsection (3) and the <u>deletion</u> of all the words from "subject" to the end öf the subsection.
- (ii) <u>Insertion</u> of the following as subsection (4): "(4) Any order made under subsection (3) shall be subject to affirmative resolution."

Clause 6 was then passed as printed.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs the Bill was read the third time and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Information, [•] Culture and Youth, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Thursday, the 7th of December, 1972.

Laram S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 4th December, 1972.