FOURTH SESSION

19**7**2

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 10th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

MONDAY, 11TH DECEMBER, 1972

MEMBERS OF THE NATIGNAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37)

Elected Ministers (12)

- The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister
- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture (Absent - on leave)
- The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and
 - Communications
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information, Culture and Youth
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House (Absent - on leave)
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service
- The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development
- The Honourable A, Salim, Minister of Local Government

Appointed Ministers (7)

- The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General (Absent)
- The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs
- The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests
- The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education
- The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade
- Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development
- The Honourable 5.5. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade
- Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, and Communications

Other Members (14)

```
Mr. J.N. Aaron
Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip
Mr. K. Bancroft
Mr. N.J. Bissember
Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.
Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue
Mr. E.F. Correia
Mr. E.F. Correia
Mr. M. Corrica
Mr. E.H.A. Fowler
Mr. R.J. Jordan
Mr. S.M. Saffee
Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman
Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.
Mrs. L.E. Willems
```

Members of the Opposition (23)

Prople's Progressive Party (17)

```
Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition
Mr. Ram Karran
Mr. R. Chandisingh
Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker
Mr. E.M.G. Wilson (Absent - on leave)
Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip
Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.
Mr. M.Y. Ally
Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.
Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.
Mr. R. Ally
Mr. Balchand Persaud
Mr. Bhola Persaud
Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.
Mr. L.A. Durant
Mr. V. Teekah
```

United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. J.A. Sutton (Absent - on leave)

Independents (3)

Mr. R.E. Cheeks (Absent) Mr. E.L. Ambrose (Absent) Mrs. L.M. Branco

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>L</u>eave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Sutton for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1973

Assembly **resumed** the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1973, totalling \$277,712,944. (See Appendix to the Minutes of 7th December, 1972)

Mr. Lall, Mrs. DaSilva and Mr. Bancroft spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshmente.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. R. Ally, Mr. M.Y. Ally and the Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development spoke to the motion.

The Deputy Speaker was speaking to the mation when the time agreed for the adjournment of the sitting was reached.

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.30 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Information, Culture and Youth, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Tuesday, the 12th of December, 1972.

S. NARAIN Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 12th December, 1972.