FOURTH SESSION

19**7**2

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 11th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ΩN

TUESDAY, 12TH DECEMBER, 1972

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

<u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37)

Elected Ministers (12)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture

The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture

The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and

Communications (Absent - on leave)
The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security (Absent)

The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information, Culture and Youth

The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House

The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health (Absent)

The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs

The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service

The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development

The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government

Appointed Ministers (7)

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education

The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade

Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development

The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Other Members (14)

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica (Absent)

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition (23)

People's Progressive Party (17)

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson (Absent - on leave)

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P.

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mr. L.A. Durant

Mr. V. Teekah

United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh (Absent)

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. J.A. Sutton (Absent)

Independents (3)

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

OFF I CERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

<u>Leave</u>

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Hoyte for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1973

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1973, totalling \$277,712,944. (See Appendix to the Minutes of 7th December, 1972)

The Deputy Speaker concluded his speech.

Dr. Ramsahoye spoke to the motion.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General concluded his speech.

 $\mbox{\rm Mr.}$ Durant, $\mbox{\rm Mr.}$ Bhola Persaud, $\mbox{\rm Mrs.}$ Willems and $\mbox{\rm Mr.}$ Stoby spoke to the motion.

<u>ADJUURNMENT</u>

At 6.40 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Information, Culture and Y_0 uth, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 13th of December, 1973.

NARAIN

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 13th December, 1972.