FOURTH SESSION

1972

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 19th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

FRIDAY, 22ND DECEMBER, 1972

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37)

Elected Ministers (12)

- The Honourable L.f.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister
- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture
- The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information, Culture and Youth
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health (Absent)
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service
- The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development (Absent)
- The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government

<u>Appointed Ministers (7)</u>

- The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General (Absent)
- The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs (Absent)
- The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests (Absent)
- The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education (Absent)
- The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade
- Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development
- The Honourable S.S. Narain, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade

Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture (Absent - on leave)

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Other Members (14)

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo. J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.f. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Fowler

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition (23)

People's Progressive Party (17)

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent)

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. (Absent)

Mr. L.A. Durant

Mr. V. Teekah

United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh

Mrs. E. DaSilva - 1

Mr. J.A. Sutton (Absent - on leave)

Independents (3)

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

DFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. Duncan and Mr. Sutton for that day's sitting.

REQUESTS FOR LEAVE TO MOVE THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE ASSEMBLY ON DEFINITE MATTERS OF URGENT PUBLIC IMPORTANCE

The Leader of the Opposition sought leave to move the adjournment of the Assembly for the purpose of discussing the resumption of mass bombing on an unprecedented scale of North and South Vietnam by the United States of America.

His Honour the Speaker did not allow the claim as he was not entirfied that the matter qualified as one which could properly be raised on a motion for the adjournment of the Assembly.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION TO APPROVE THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1973

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to resume consideration of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1973, totalling \$277,712,944. (See Appendix to Minutes of the 7th of December, 1972).

In Committee of Supply

HEAD 34 - MINISTRY OF WURKS AND COMMUNICATIONS
(COMMUNICATIONS) was passed as
printed at

399,236

- HEAD 35 MINISTRY OF WORKS AND COMMUNICATIONS POST OFFICE was passed as printed
 at ... \$3,025,868
- HEAD 36 MINISTRY OF WORKS AND COMMUNICATIONS

 (COMMUNICATIONS) TRANSPORT AND

 HARBOURS was passed as printed at... \$\tilde{v}\$ 1,893,998
- HEAD 37 MINISTRY OF WORKS AND COMMUNICATIONS

 (COMMUNICATIONS) CIVIL AVIATION

 was passed as printed at ... 754,357
- DIVISION XVIII MINISTRY OF WORKS AND

 COMMUNICATIONS was passed as

 printed at

 with the substitution of the following for the note to subhead 12:

"To provide for the construction of dredging barge and 3 hopper barges."

Pagembly resumed.

CHRISTMAS GREETINGS

His Honour the Speaker, on behalf of the Staff of Parliament Office and himself, extended Christmas Greetings to the Members of the Assembly and their families and to the Press.

The Prime Minister, Mr. Ram Karran, Mr. M.F. Singh and Mr. Cheeks thanked His Honour and reciprocated the Greetings to him and his family and to the Staff of Parliament Office and also extended greetings to the Press.

His Honour the Speaker, on behalf of his family, the Staff of Parliament Office, and himself, thanked the Members.

ADJUURNMENT

At 4.20 p.m., on a motion by the Minister without fortfolio and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, the 27th of December, 1972.

- NARAIN

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 27th December, 1972.