SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FOURTH SESSION

1972 + 1973

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 22nd Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

DN

TUESDAY, 2ND JANUARY, 1973

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

Speaker

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37) Elected Ministers (12)

- The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister
- Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture
- The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information, Culture and Youth (Absent)
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service
- The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development
- The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government

Appointed Ministers (7)

- The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General
- The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs (Absent)
- The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests
- The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education (Absent)
- The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade
- Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic > Development (Absent)
- The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction (Absent)

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade

Mr. P. Duncen, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture

Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth

Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Other Members (14)

Mr. J.N. Aaron

Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip

Mr. K. Bancroft

Mr. N.J. Bissember

Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.

Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue

Mr. E.F. Correia

Mr. M. Corrica

Mr. E.H.A. Foullet

Mr. R.J. Jordan

Mr. S.M. Saffee

Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman

Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

Mrs. L.E. Willems (Absent)

Members of the Opposition (23)

People's Progressive Party (17)

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leaders of the Opposition

Mr. Ram Karran

Mr. R. Chandisingh

Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C.

Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker

Mr. E.M.G. Wilson

Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip

Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P.

Mr. M.Y. Ally

Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P.

Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. (Absent)

Mr. R. Ally

Mr. Balchand Persaud

Mr. Bhola Persaud

Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P.

Mr. L.A. Durant

Mr. V. Teekah *

United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. E. DaSilva

Mr. J.A. Sutton

Independents (3)

Mr. R.E. Cheeks

Mr. E.L. Ambrose

Mrs. L.M. Branco

OFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

His Honour the Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

BILL - Deferred

ITEM 1 COUNCIL OF LEGAL EDUCATION BILL 1972 - Bill No. 13/1972 published 8.12.72

At the request of the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General, the Assembly agreed not to proceed at that sitting with the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO ENABLE THE IMPLEMENTATION BY GUYANA OF THE AGREEMENT FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE COUNCIL OF LEGAL EDUCATION.

BILL - Second and Third Readings

ITEM 2 TAX (AMENDMENT) BILL 1972 - Bill No. 14/1972 published 23.12.72

The Minister of Finance and Trade moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO AMEND THE TAX ORDINANCE.

Mr. Ram Karran, Mr. Sutton, Dr. Ramsahoye and the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the motion was put and carried.

The Bill was then read a second time.

Assembly resolved itself into Committee to consider the Bill clause by clause.

In Committee

Clauses 1 and 2 were passed as printed.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance and Trade the Bill was read the third time and <u>passed</u> as <u>printed</u>.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

At 2.55 p.m., on a motion by the Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

. NARAIN

Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 3rd January, 1972.