FOURTH SESSION

1972 - 1973

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 36th Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

### AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

WEDNESDAY, 6TH JUNE, 1973

#### MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

#### <u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

## Members of the Government - People's National Congress (37)

# Elected Ministers (12)

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, O.E., S.C., Prime Minister
Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture
The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture
The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications
The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information,
Culture and Youth
The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and
Leader of the House
The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health <sup>°</sup>
The Honourable Q.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public
Service
The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community
Development
The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government
<u>Appointed Ministers (7)</u>
The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs
and Attorney-General

The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs

The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests

The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education (Absent)

The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade

- Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development
- The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

Parliamentary Secretaries (4)

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade
- Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

### Other Members (14)

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip
Mr. K. Bancroft
Mr. N.J. Bissember
Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P.
Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue
Mr. M. Corrica
Mr. E.H.A. Fowler
Mr. R.J. Jordan
Mr. S.M. Saffee
Mr. R.C. Van 5luytman
Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.
Mrs. L.E. Willems
Mr. J.G. Ramson

# Members of the Opposition (23)

```
People's Progressive Party (15)
```

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran (Absent) Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. (Absent - on leave) Mr. D.C. Jagan, **J.P., Deputy Speaker** Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P. Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P. Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. R. Ally Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mr. V. Teekah (Absent)

# United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. J.A. Sutton

### Independents (5)

Mr. R.E. Cheeks Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. Mr, L.A. Durant

## <u>OFFIÇERS</u>

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, AMBIM, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly The Clerk read Prayers.

## PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS. ETC.

#### By the Minister of Finance and Trades

Consumption Tax (Petroleum)(Amendment) Order 1973 (No. 50), made under section 4 of the Consumption Tax Act 1969 (No. 13), on the 28th of May, 1973, and published in the Gazette on the 29th of May, 1973. (G.669/1 TJ)(Circulated)

### PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTIONS

### SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER

On a motion by the Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House, and with the leave of the Speaker, Standing Order No. 23(3) was suspended to enable the Minister to move a motion of condolence on the death of Dr. Charles Ramkissoon Jacob, Jnr.

# <u>ITEM 1</u> - <u>MOTION OF CONDOLENCE ON THE DEATH OF DR. CHARLES</u> <u>RAMKISSOON JACOB, JNR.</u>

The Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House moved and the Leader of the Opposition seconded the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly records its deep regret at the death of Dr. Charles Ramkissoon Jacob, Jnr., and pays tribute to the service which he rendered to Guyana and to Parliament and directs that an expression of its sympathy be conveyed to his sorrowing widow, children and relatives.

Mr. M.F. Singh and Mr. Cheeks spoke to the motion.

Thereafter, the motion was put and <u>carried</u> with Members standing.

# ITEM 2 - MOTION TO CONFIRM CONSUMPTION TAX (PETROLEUM) (AMENDMENT) ORDER 1973 (No. 50)

The Minister of Finance and Trade moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly, in accordance with section 5 of the Consumption Tax Act 1969 (No. 13), confirm the Consumption Tax (Petroleum) (Amendment) Order 1973 (No. 50), which was made on the 28th of May, 1973, and published in the Gazette on the 29th of May, 1973.

1 ----

Mr. Chandisingh spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance and Trade replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

#### DISSOLUTION OF PARLIAMENT

His Honour the Speaker informed the Assembly that His Excellency the President had signed on 5th June, 1973, a Proclamation dissolving Parliament on 7th June, 1973.

His Honour took the opportunity to outline the work done during the life of the Second Parliament of Guyana, and thereafter expressed good wishes to all Members and thanked them and the Staff of Parliament Office for their co-operation.

The Prime Minister, Mr. Chandisingh, Mr. M.F. Singh, Mr. Cheeks, Mr. Stoby and Mr. Lall thanked His Honour and extended good wishes to him and to the Staff of Parliament Office.

His Honour thanked Members on behalf of the Staff and himself.

## PROCLAMATIONS DISSOLVING PARLIAMENT AND FIXING DATE OF ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

The Clerk read Proclamations made by His Excellency the President on 5th June, 1973, with Seal No. 193/73 and Seal No.194/73, dissolving Parliament on 7th June, 1973, and appointing 16th July, 1973, as the day on which an election of Members of the National Assembly shall be held, respectively.

#### TERMINATION OF SITTING

At 3.43 p.m. the sitting was terminated.

NARAIN 6. 673

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 6th June, 1973.