SECOND PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA

FIRST SESSION

1969

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 42nd Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 14TH OCTOBER, 1969

PRESENT:

His Honour the Deputy Speaker, Mr. O.E. Clarke - In the Chair

1

(a) Members of the Government

(i) Ministers

The	Honourable	L.F.S. I	Burnham,	Q.C.,	Prime	Minister
Dr.	the Honour	able P.A.	Reid,	Deputy	Prime	Minister
	and Minis	ter of Fi	inance			

- The Honourable R.J. Jordan, Minister of Agriculture and Natural Resources
- The Honourable M. Kasim, Minister of Communications
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable C.M.L. John, Minister of Local Government
- Mrs. the Honourable S.M. Patterson, Minister of Education The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister of Housing and Reconstruction
- (ii) Parliamentary Secretaries
 - Mr. J.G. Joaquin, O.B.E., J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance Mr. W. Haynes, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Hydraulics Mr. A. Salim, Parliamentary Secretary,
 - Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary,
 - Office of the Prime Minister

(iii) Other Members

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman Mr. K. Bancroft Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. M. Corrica Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mrs. P.A. Limerick Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. D.A. Singh Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. C.E. Wrights Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P.

(b) Members of the Opposition

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. G.H. Lall Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. R.D. Persaud, J.P. Mr. R. Ally Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mrs. R.P. Sahoye Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. M.F. Singh Mr. J.A. Sutton

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly - Mr. M.B. Henry

Absent

His	Honour the Speaker, Mr. R.B. Gajraj,		
	C.B.E., J.P.	-	on leave
The	Honourable N.J. Bissember, Minister		
	of Trade and Parliamentary Affairs	-	on leave
The	Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister		
	of Labour and Social Security	-	on leave
The	Honourable S.S. Ramphal, C.M.G., Q.C.,		
	Attorney-General and Minister of State		
The	Honourable M.W. Carter, Minister of		
	Information		
The	Honourable H. Green, Minister of Works		
	and Hydraulics		
The	Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister without		
	Portfolio	-	on leave
Dr.	the Honourable Sylvia Talbot, Minister		
	of Health	-	on leave
Mr.	P. Duncan, Parliamentary Secretary,		
	Office of the Prime Minister		
Mr.	J. Budhoo, J.P.	-	on leave
	L.I. Chan-A-Sue		
	D.C. Jagan'	-	on leave
	A.M. Hamid, J.P.	-	on leave
	E.M. Stoby		
	V. Teekah	-	on leave
	R.E. Cheeks		

PRAYERS

The Deputy Clerk read Prayers

PUBLIC BUSINESS

- BILLS Second Reading
- MUNICIPAL AND DISTRICT COUNCILS BILL, 1969 -ITEM 1 -Bill No. 24/1969 published 3. 10. 69

Assembly resumed the debate on the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO MAKE BETTER PROVISION FOR LOCAL GOVERNMENT IN THE CITY OF GEORGETONN AND THE TOWN OF NEW AMSTERDAM AND IN OTHER AREAS OF GUYANA.

Mr. Aaron, Mr. Balchand Persaud, Mr. Wilson and Mr. M.F. Singh spoke to the motion.

Mr. Remington was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

· SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.00 p.m. the sitting was suspended for tea.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.35 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

Mr. Remington concluded his speech.

Dr. Ramsahoye spoke to the motion.

Mr. Sutton was speaking to the motion for thirty minutes when a motion for an extension of time for a period of fifteen minutes, moved by Mr. M.F. Singh and seconded by Mr. Ram Karran, was put and <u>negatived</u> on the following division:

-FOR

-AGAINST

Mr.	Sutton
Mr.	M.F. Singh
Mr.	Bhola Persaud
Mr.	Balchand Persaud
Mrs	Branco
Mr.	Ambrose
Mr.	R. Ally
Mr.	R.D. Persaud
Mr.	M.Y. Ally
	Lall
Dr.	Ramsahoye
Mr.	Chandisingh
	Ram Karran
- •	

Mr. Zaheeruddeen Mr. Wrights Mr. Van Sluytman Mr. D.A. Singh Mr. Saffee Mrs. Limerick Mr. Corrica Mr. Bencroft Miss Ackman Mr. Aaron Mr. Thomas Mr. Salim Mr. Haynes Mr. Ramsaroop Mrs. Patterson Mr. John Mr. Hoyte Mr. Jordan

13

18

Mr. Chandisingh spoke to the motion.

Thereafter the Minister of Local Government replied.

The motion was then put and carried.

The Bill was read a second time.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.30 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.13 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

His Honour the Deputy Speaker announced that the Assembly would proceed with the second reading of Bill No. 23.

ITEM 2 - LOCAL AUTHORITIES ELECTIONS BILL, 1969 -Bill No. 2 1/ 969 uplished 3.10. 26

The Minister of Local Government moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT TO MAKE PROVISION FOR THE ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES, FOR THE PREPARATION OF ELECTORAL REGISTERS FOR THE PURPOSES OF SUCH ELECTIONS, FOR THE DETERMINATION OF DISPUTES IN CONNECTION WITH SUCH ELECTIONS AND OF DISPUTES IN CONNECTION WITH ELECTIONS TO CERTAIN OFFICES IN LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND FOR MATTERS INCIDENTAL TO AND CONNECTED WITH THE AFORESAID FURPOSES.

Mrs. Sahoye spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 9.57 p.m. on a motion by the Minister of Local Government, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 15th October, 1969 1969.

0. E. CLARKE

Deputy Speaker

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

15th October, 1969.