NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 14TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2007) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 12TH FEBRUARY, 2007

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (71)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari. N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent – on leave) Members of the Government (42)

- (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (41)
- (ii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice), Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications (Absent – on leave performing the functions of Office of the President)

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Education (Absent – on leave)

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Cooperation (Absent)

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Health

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P., (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Esseqiuibo), Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

*The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent - on leave)

The Hon. Harry Narine Nawbatt, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

*Non-elected Minister

The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P., (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Agriculture

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of Public Service (Absent)

The Hon. Kellawan Lall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

*The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

**The Hon.Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Labour

The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Human Services and Social Security

The Hon. Dr. Desrey Fox, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education

The Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health

The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce (Absent)

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P.

Mr. Albert Atkinson, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

^{*}Non-Elected Minister

^{**}Elected Member from the United Force

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Mohamed F. Khan, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

***Mr. Steve P. Ninvalle, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

Mr. Parmanand P. Persaud, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

***Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, M.P., (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Members of the Opposition (28)

(i) Members of People's National Congress Reform-One Guyana (22)

Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Winston Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker performing duties of Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip (Absent – on leave)

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P. (Absent – on leave)

Mr. Anthony Vieira, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P.

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. James McAllister, M.P.

Mr. Dave D. Danny, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Ernest B. Elliot, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Judith David-Blair, M.P., (Region No.7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Mervyn Williams, M.P., (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Ms Africo Selman, M.P.

Dr. John Austin, M.P., (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms Jennifer Wade, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P., (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. Desmond Fernandes, M.P., (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

(ii) Alliance For Change (5)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

Ms Chantalle L. Smith, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent – on leave)

Mr. David Patterson, M.P.

(iii) Guyana Action Party/Rise Organize and Rebuild (1)

Mr. Everall N. Franklin, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawttie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PUBLIC BUSINESS-

(i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

MOTION

<u>BUDGET SPEECH 2007 - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF</u> <u>EXPENDITURE FOR 2007</u>

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2007.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2007-02-02)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Basil Williams

The Minister of Agriculture

Mr. Ernest Elliot

The Minister of Housing and Water

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.35 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mr. David Patterson

The Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Mr. Norman Whittaker

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 7.30 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 8.04 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Ms Africo Selman

Mr. Neendkumar

Ms Bibi S. Shadick

Mrs. Pauline Sukhai

SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDER NO.10(1)

At 10.55 p.m., the Minister of Home Affairs moved a motion for the suspension of Standing Order No. 10(1) for the Assembly to continue the debate on the motion uninterrupted until its conclusion.

Mrs. Pauline Sukhai continued and concluded her speech.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

Mrs. Judith David-Blair

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury

ADJOURNMENT

At 11.10 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the sitting was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Tuesday, 13th February, 2007.

MRS. CLARISSA RIEHL, M.P.,

Acting Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Brickdam.

12th February, 2007.