NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 30TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2006-2007) OF THE NINTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON THURSDAY, 2ND AUGUST, 2007

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN.

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (71)

Speaker (1)

The Hon. Hari. N. Ramkarran, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government (42)

- (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (41)
- (ii) The United Force (1)

The Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, M.P., (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice), Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

The Hon. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Foreign Trade and International Cooperation

The Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Health

The Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P., (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Esseqiuibo), Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*The Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

*The Hon. S. Rudolph Insanally, O.R., C.C.H., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent – on leave)

The Hon. Harry Narine Nawbatt, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

*Non-elected Minister

The Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P., (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Agriculture

The Hon. Dr. Jennifer R.A. Westford, M.P., (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of Public Service

The Hon. Kellawan Lall, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

*The Hon. Doodnauth Singh, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

The Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

The Hon. B.H. Robeson Benn, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics

**The Hon. Manzoor Nadir, M.P., Minister of Labour

The Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Human Services and Social Security (Absent – on leave)

The Hon. Dr. Desrey Fox, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Education

The Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsaran, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Health

The Hon. Jennifer I. Webster, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

The Hon. Manniram Prashad, M.P., Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P.

Mr. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Chief Whip

Ms Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Mohamed Irfaan Ali, M.P.

Mr. Albert Atkinson, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

^{*}Non-Elected Minister

^{**}Elected Member from the United Force

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Mohamed F. Khan, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mr. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

***Mr. Steve P. Ninvalle, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

Mr. Parmanand P. Persaud, J.P., M.P., (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

***Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Mr. Norman A. Whittaker, M.P., (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Members of the Opposition (28)

(i) Members of People's National Congress Reform-One Guyana (22)

Mr. Robert Corbin, M.P., Leader of the Opposition

Mr. Winston Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. Anthony Vieira, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Dr. George A. Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. James McAllister, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Dave D. Danny, M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Ernest B. Elliot, M.P., (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Judith David-Blair, M.P., (Region No.7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Mervyn Williams, M.P., (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Island/West Demerara)

Ms Africo Selman, M.P.

Dr. John Austin, M.P., (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent)

Ms Jennifer Wade, M.P., (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P., (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. Desmond Fernandes, M.P., (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

(ii) Alliance For Change (5)

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mrs. Sheila V.A. Holder, M.P.

Ms Chantalle L. Smith, M.P., (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) (Absent)

Mr. David Patterson, M.P.

(iii) Guyana Action Party/Rise Organize and Rebuild (1)

Mr. Everall N. Franklin, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawttie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The sitting commenced at 2:09 p.m.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS-

(1) The Minister of Home Affairs did not proceed with the presentation of the following document.

Summary of Security Sector Reform Action Plan 2007 to 2011.

(2) By the Minister of Finance:

The Constitutional Offices (Remuneration of Holders) Order 2007 (No. 17 of 2007).

(Circulated)

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS-

Presentation and First Reading

THE FOREST BILL 2007 - Bill No. 21 of 2007 published on 2007-07-24

The Minister of Agriculture, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read the first time:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to consolidate and amend the law relating to forests.

PUBLIC BUSINESS-

(i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

BILLS - Second Readings

At 2:14 p.m., the Members of the People's National Congress Reform – One Guyana withdrew from the Chamber.

HIGH COURT (AMENDMENT) BILL 2007 – Bill No. 19/2007 published on 2007-06-14

The Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs moved the second reading of the following Bill:

A BILL intituled AN ACT to amend the High Court Act.

(Read a first time on 2007-06-28)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Anil Nandlall

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan

The Minister of Labour

Ms Bibi Shadick The Minister of Health

Thereafter, the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs replied.

The Bill was read a second time on the following Division:

<u>AGAINST</u>	DECLINED TO VOTE	<u>FOR</u>
Mr. Patterson	Mr. Franklin	M. Whittaker
		Mr. Seeraj
Mrs. Holder		Mrs. Sahoye-Shury
Mr. Ramjattan		Mr. Parmanand Persaud
Mr. Trotman		Mr. Neendkumar
		Mr. Nandlall
		Mr. Nagamootoo
		Mr. Lumumba
		Mr. Khan
		Mrs. Edwards
		Mr. DeSantos
		Mr. Chand
		Mr. Atkinson
		Mr. Ali
		Ms Shadick
		Mrs. Chandarpal
		Mr. Nokta
		Ms Teixeira
		Mr. Ramotar

Mr. Prashad

/...8

Dr. Ramsaran Dr. Fox Mr. Nadir Mr. Benn Dr. Anthony Mr. Lall Dr. Westford Mr. Robert Persaud Mr. Nawbatt Mrs. Rodrigues-Birkett Dr. Ramsammy Dr. Jeffrey Mr. Baksh Mr. Rohee Mr. Hinds 35

Assembly resolved itself into Committee to consider the Bill clause by clause.

1

In Committee

4

Clauses 1 and 2 were passed as printed.

Assembly resumed

On a motion by the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, the High Court (Amendment) Bill 2007, was read a third time and passed as printed.

ADJOURNMENT

At 4:00 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Public Works and Communications, the Assembly was adjourned to 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, 7th August, 2007.

Afrikanlessan

HON. HARI N. RAMKARRAN, S.C., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Brickdam.

2nd August, 2007.