#### **NATIONAL ASSEMBLY**

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# OF THE 5<sup>TH</sup> SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2012) OF THE TENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

# ON WEDNESDAY, 21<sup>ST</sup> MARCH, 2012 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

# MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

# Speaker (1)

The Hon Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

### **MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (34)**

#### (i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)

Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs

Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne),

Minister of Natural Resources and Environment (Absent – on leave)

Hon. Dr. Jennifer Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni),

Minister of the Public Service

Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsarran, M.P., Minister of Health

Hon. Mohamed I. Alli, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Works

Hon. Ganga Persaud, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Education

Hon. Jennifer I.M. Webster, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Hon. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

\*Hon. Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul, M.P., Minister of Labour

Hon. Alli Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam), Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. Norman A. Whittaker, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini), Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance (Absent – on leave)

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P. (Absent – on leave)

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P. (Absent – on leave)

Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P.

Rev. Dr. Kwame A. Gilbert, M.P.

\*\*Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health

Dr. Vindhya Vasini Persaud, M.S., M.P. (Absent – on leave)

Mr. Cornel Damon, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Faizal M. Jafarally, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

# Members of the Opposition (33)

#### (ii) Members of A Partnership for National Unity(26)

Brigadier (Ret'd) David A. Granger, M.S.S., M.P.

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Dr. George Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P. Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

#### \*\*Non-Elected Member

Mr. Carl B. Greenidge, M.P.

Mr. Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Dawn Hastings, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Winston Felix, D.S.M., M.P.

Ms Jennifer J. Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P.

Ms Africo Selman, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Desmond Trotman, M.P.

Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. James A. Bond, M.P.

Mr. Ronald A. Bulkhan, M.P.

Mr. Jaipaul Sharma, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Mabel Baveghems, M.P.

Mr. John Adams, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Christopher A. Jones, M.P.

Mr. Richard Allen, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Mr. Renis Morian, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Miss Annette N. Ferguson M.P.

# (iii) Members of The Alliance For Change (7)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Catherine Hughes, M.P.

Mrs. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, M.P.

Dr. Veersammy Ramayya, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms June Eula Marcello, M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Trevor Williams, M.P.

# **OFFICERS**

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

# **COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING**

The Sitting commenced at 2.13 p.m.

# **PRAYERS**

The Clerk read the prayers.

### (i) PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

#### **MOTIONS**

The Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs rose on a point-of-order under Standing Order No. 111(1) with respect to the drafts of the proposed amendments not being attached to the notices of motions to amend the Standing Orders.

The following Members spoke on the Prime Minister's point-of-order:

Mr. Basil Willaims

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan

Ms Gail Teixeira

Mrs. Deborah Backer

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine

Thereafter the Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs replied.

# SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.43 p.m., the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker to consider the point-of-order and to rule on it.

# **RESUMPTION OF SITTING**

At 2.54 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The Speaker ruled that the notices, and not the motions, were out of order. His Honour also directed the Clerk to re-circulate the notices with the drafts of the proposed amendments within 48 hours of that sitting to Members of Parliament.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 3.01 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly as adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Friday, 30<sup>th</sup> March, 2012.

HON. RAPHAEL G.C. TROTMAN, M.P.,

**Speaker of the National Assembly** 

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Brickdam,
Georgetown.

21st March, 2012.