NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 11TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2012) OF THE TENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON MONDAY, 16th APRIL, 2012 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (34)

(i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)

Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs (Absent – performing the functions of Office of the President)

Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent – on leave)

Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Natural Resources and Environment

Hon. Dr. Jennifer Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni),

Minister of the Public Service (Absent – on leave)

Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsarran, M.P., Minister of Health

Hon. Mohamed I. Alli, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Works

Hon. Ganga Persaud, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Education

Hon. Jennifer I.M. Webster, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Hon. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*Hon. Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul, M.P., Minister of Labour

Hon. Alli Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam), Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. Norman A. Whittaker, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini), Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara) (Absent – on leave)

*Non-Elected Minister

Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P.

Rev. Dr. Kwame A. Gilbert, M.P.

**Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health

Dr. Vindhya Vasini Persaud, M.S., M.P.

Mr. Cornel Damon, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Faizal M. Jafarally, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Members of the Opposition (33)

(ii) Members of A Partnership for National Unity(26)

Brigadier (Ret'd) David A. Granger, M.S.S., M.P.

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Dr. George Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

**Non-Elected Member

Mr. Carl B. Greenidge, M.P.

Mr. Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Dawn Hastings, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Winston Felix, D.S.M., M.P.

Ms Jennifer J. Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P.

Ms Africo Selman, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Desmond Trotman, M.P.

Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. James A. Bond, M.P.

Mr. Ronald A. Bulkhan, M.P.

Mr. Jaipaul Sharma, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Mabel Baveghems, M.P.

Mr. John Adams, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Christopher A. Jones, M.P.

Mr. Richard Allen, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Mr. Renis Morian, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Miss Annette N. Ferguson M.P.

(iii) Members of The Alliance For Change (7)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Catherine Hughes, M.P.

Mrs. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, M.P.

Dr. Veersammy Ramayya, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms June Eula Marcello, M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Trevor Williams, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 1.07 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read the prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

The Speaker made the following announcements:

(i) "Complaints by the Leader of the Opposition re: bias reporting of Parliamentary Debate by GINA. He said that he had forwarded Mr. Granger's letter to Mr. Neaz Subhan of GINA, for his comments.

(ii) The Speaker stated that the traffic arrangements for sittings of the National Assembly were cumbersome and that requests to the Commissioner of Police have yielded no improvement."

PUBLIC BUSINESS-

(i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2012 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2012

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2012.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2012-03-30)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Ms Amna Ally

While the Minister of Education was speaking to the motion the Speaker suspended the sitting.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.42 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 2.50 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

At 2.53 p.m., Ms Amna Ally rose on a point-of-order.

Thereafter the Minister of Education continued and concluded her speech.

Mr. Joseph Harmon also spoke to the motion.

At 3.38 p.m. the Minister of Public Works rose on a point-of-order.

Mr. Joseph Harmon continued and concluded his speech.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 3.54 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.57 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Public Works

Mr. Christopher Jones

The Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 6.55 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 7.29 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Mr. Neendkumar

Ms Gail Teixeira

ADJOURNMENT

At 9.19 p.m., on a motion by the Minister of Home Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 1.00 p.m., on Tuesday, 17th April, 2012.

.....

HON. RAPHAEL G.C. TROTMAN, M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Brickdam, Georgetown.

16th April, 2012.