NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 12TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2012) OF THE TENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 17th APRIL, 2012 IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (34)

(i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)

Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs

Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne), Minister of Natural Resources and Environment

Hon. Dr. Jennifer Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni), Minister of the Public Service

Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsarran, M.P., Minister of Health

Hon. Mohamed I. Alli, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water

Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Works

Hon. Ganga Persaud, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Education

Hon. Jennifer I.M. Webster, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Hon. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*Hon. Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul, M.P., Minister of Labour

Hon. Alli Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam), Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. Norman A. Whittaker, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini), Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)

*Non-Elected Minister

Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P.

Rev. Dr. Kwame A. Gilbert, M.P.

**Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health

Dr. Vindhya Vasini Persaud, M.S., M.P.

Mr. Cornel Damon, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Faizal M. Jafarally, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Members of the Opposition (33)

(ii) Members of A Partnership for National Unity(26)

Brigadier (Ret'd) David A. Granger, M.S.S., M.P.

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, M.P.

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Dr. George Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

**Non-Elected Member

Mr. Carl B. Greenidge, M.P.

Mr. Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Dawn Hastings, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Winston Felix, D.S.M., M.P.

Ms Jennifer J. Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P.

Ms Africo Selman, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Desmond Trotman, M.P.

Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Mr. James A. Bond, M.P.

Mr. Ronald A. Bulkhan, M.P.

Mr. Jaipaul Sharma, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Mabel Baveghems, M.P.

Mr. John Adams, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Christopher A. Jones, M.P.

Mr. Richard Allen, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Mr. Renis Morian, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Miss Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

(iii) Members of The Alliance For Change (7)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Catherine Hughes, M.P.

Mrs. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, M.P. (Absent)

Dr. Veersammy Ramayya, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Ms June Eula Marcello, M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Trevor Williams, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 1.03 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read the prayers.

PERSONAL EXPLANATIONS

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P., asked the Minister of Finance whether he will meet with APNU and AFC to address concerns re the 2012 Estimates to ensure its smooth passage.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

PUBLIC BUSINESS -

(i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2012 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 2012

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2012.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2012-03-30)

The following Members spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan

Brigadier (Ret'd) David Granger

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 3.30 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 4.45 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

Thereafter the Minister of Finance replied.

CONCLUSION OF BUDGET DEBATE

Following the conclusion of the general debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2012, Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider and dispose of the Report of the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply.

7.

In Committee of Supply

The Speaker reported that the Business Sub-Committee of the Committee of Supply met

on Monday, 16th April, 2012, considered the allocation of time for the consideration of the 2012

Estimates of Expenditure in the Committee of Supply, and passed a Resolution on the matter.

Copies of the Sub-Committee's Minutes, Resolution and Time Table had been circulated to

Members at the sitting on Monday, 16th April, 2012.

On a motion by the Minister of Finance, the Committee of Supply agreed with the Business Sub-

Committee in its Resolution.

The Speaker stated that in accordance with the Resolution, the Committee of Supply would

commence consideration of the 2012 Estimates of Expenditure on Wednesday, 18th April, 2012.

Assembly resumed

ADJOURNMENT

At 6.44 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the

Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Wednesday, 18th April, 2012.

.....

HON. RAPHAEL G.C. TROTMAN, M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Brickdam,

Georgetown.

17th April, 2012.