NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 15^H SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (2012) OF THE TENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON FRIDAY, 20th APRIL, 2012

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, BRICKDAM, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (68)

Speaker (1)

The Hon Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNMENT (34)

(i) People's Progressive Party/Civic (34)

Hon. Samuel A.A. Hinds, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Hon. Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P., Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Mohabir A. Nandlall, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica), Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs

Hon. Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, M.P. (Region No. 9 – Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo), Minister of Foreign Affairs

Hon. Dr. Ashni K. Singh, M.P., Minister of Finance

Hon. Robert M. Persaud, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne),

Minister of Natural Resources and Environment

Hon. Dr. Jennifer Westford, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni),

Minister of the Public Service

Hon. Dr. Bheri S. Ramsarran, M.P., Minister of Health

Hon. Mohamed I. Alli, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water (Absent)

Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport

Hon. Brindley H.R. Benn, M.P., Minister of Public Works

Hon. Ganga Persaud, M.P., Minister of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Priya D. Manickchand, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice), Minister of Education

Hon. Jennifer I.M. Webster, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security

Hon. Pauline Campbell-Sukhai, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs

*Hon. Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul, M.P., Minister of Labour

Hon. Alli Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam), Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture

Hon. Norman A. Whittaker, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini), Minister in the Ministry of Local Government and Regional Development

Hon. Bishop Juan A. Edghill, M.S., J.P., M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Ms Gail Teixeira, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

Mrs. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)

*Non-Elected Minister

Bibi S. Shadick, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Odinga Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Neendkumar, J.P., M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Dharamkumar Seeraj, M.P.

Dr. Vishwa D.B. Mahadeo, M.P.

Rev. Dr. Kwame A. Gilbert, M.P.

**Mr. Joseph Hamilton, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Health

Dr. Vindhya Vasini Persaud, M.S., M.P.

Mr. Cornel Damon, M.P. (Region No. 2 – Pomeroon/Supernaam)

Mr. Faizal M. Jafarally, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne)

Members of the Opposition (33)

(ii) Members of A Partnership for National Unity(26)

Brigadier (Ret'd) David A. Granger, M.S.S., M.P. (Absent)

Dr. Rupert Roopnarine, M.P. (Absent)

Ms Amna Ally, M.P.

Mr. Basil Williams, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Volda Lawrence, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Dr. George Norton, M.P.

Mrs. Deborah Backer, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

**Non-Elected Member

Mr. Carl B. Greenidge, M.P.

Mr. Joseph F. Harmon, M.S.M., M.P.

Mr. Keith Scott, M.P.

Ms Dawn Hastings, M.P. (Region No. 7 – Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Winston Felix, D.S.M., M.P.

Ms Jennifer J. Wade, M.P. (Region No. 5 – Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Sydney Allicock, M.S., M.P.

Ms Africo Selman, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Desmond Trotman, M.P.

Ms Vanessa Kissoon, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice) (Absent)

Mr. James A. Bond, M.P.

Mr. Ronald A. Bulkhan, M.P.

Mr. Jaipaul Sharma, M.P. (Region No. 4 – Demerara/Mahaica)

Mrs. Mabel Baveghems, M.P.

Mr. John Adams, M.P. (Region No. 3 – Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Christopher A. Jones, M.P.

Mr. Richard Allen, M.P. (Region No. 1 – Barima/Waini)

Mr. Renis Morian, M.P. (Region No. 10 – Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice)

Miss Annette N. Ferguson, M.P.

(iii) Members of The Alliance For Change (7)

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P.

Mrs. Catherine Hughes, M.P.

Mrs. Valerie Garrido-Lowe, M.P.

Dr. Veersammy Ramayya, M.P. (Region No. 6 – East Berbice/Corentyne) (Absent)

Ms June Eula Marcello, M.P. (Region No. 8 – Potaro/Siparuni)

Mr. Trevor Williams, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Clerk of the National Assembly

Mrs. Lilawtie Coonjah, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read the prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Opening of Wheel Chair Ramp

The Speaker informed Members that the Wheel Chair Ramp was officially opened.

PUBLIC BUSINESS -

(i) GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

MOTION

BUDGET SPEECH 2012 – MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF

EXPENDITURE FOR 2012

The Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply to consider the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 2012.

(Moved by the Minister of Finance on 2012-03-30)

In Committee of Supply

The following Agencies and Programmes in the Estimates of Expenditure were considered and approved by the Committee as presented with the respective amounts allocated thereto:

31 - MINISTRY OF PUBLIC WORKS

Current Expenditure

- 311 Ministry Administration
- 312 Public Works
- 313 Transport

Capital Expenditure

- 311 Ministry Administration
- 312 Public Works
- 313 Transport

21 - MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE

Current Expenditure

- 211 Ministry Administration
- 213 Fisheries
- 214 Hydrometeorological Services

Capital Expenditure

- 211 Ministry Administration
- 212 Crops and Livestock Support

Services

- 213 Fisheries
- 214 Hydrometeorological Services

Assembly resumed

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 6.05 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

In Committee of Supply

The following Agencies and Programmes in the Estimates of Expenditure were considered and approved by the Committee as presented with the respective amounts allocated thereto:

24 - MINISTRY OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENT

Current Expenditure

- 241 Ministry Administration
- 242 Natural Resource Management
- 243 Environmental Management

Capital Expenditure

- 241 Ministry Administration
- 242 Natural Resource Management
- 243 Environmental Management

14 - PUBLIC SERVICE MINISTRY

Current Expenditure

141 Public Service Management

Capital Expenditure

141 Public Service Management

Assembly resumed

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.26 p.m., on a motion by the Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Monday, 23rd April, 2012.

.....

HON. RAPHAEL G.C. TROTMAN, M.P.,

Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,

Public Buildings,

Brickdam,

Georgetown.

20th April, 2012.