NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 70TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1992-1996) OF THE SIXTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 30TH JANUARY, 1996

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (72)

<u>Speaker (1)</u>

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (42)

The Hon. Samuel A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

- The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House)
- The Hon. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Senior Minister of Home Affairs (Government Chief Whip)
- The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Senior Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth Bisnauth, M.P., Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
- *The Hon. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Senior Minister of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Senior Minister of Foreign Affairs
- The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Senior Minister of Health
- The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Senior Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry
- *The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Senior Minister of Finance

Mrs. Janet Jagan, O.E., M.P.

- The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture
- The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Public Works, Communications and Regional Development
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, M.P., Senior Minister of Local Government

*Non-elected Member

/...

Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P. Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P. Mr. Husman Alli, M.P. Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh, M.P. Mr. Komal Chand, M.P. Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, M.P. Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P. Mrs. Una A. James, M.P. Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P. Dr. Moti Lall, M.P. Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P. Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P. Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P. Mrs. Pauline Sukhai, M.P. Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P. (Absent-on leave) Mr. Reuben A. Gilbert, M.P. Mr. Edward DaSilva, M.P. Mr. Khadim Bacchus, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs) Mr. Samad A. Baksh, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam) Mr. Harrinarine Baldeo, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice) Mr. Joseph DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini) Mr. Eugene La Cruz, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) Mr. Bagot Paul, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni) Mr. Kum Karan Ramdas, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne) Mr. Ramrattan, M.P., a/k Balkarran (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/ West Demerara)

<u>Members of the Minority (29)</u>

(i) <u>People's National Congress (26)</u>

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Minority Leader (Absent) Mr. Robert H.O. Corbin, M.P. Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P. (Absent) Dr. Patrick L. McKenzie, A.A., M.P., Chief Whip Mrs. Clarissa Riehl, M.P. Dr. Kenneth F.S. King, M.P. Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard, M.P. Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P. Miss Amna Ally, M.P. (Absent) Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P. Mr. Arthur A. Alexander, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly (Absent) Mr. Simon H. Ng-See-Quan, M.P. (Absent) Mr. David Subnauth, M.P. Mr. Reynold N. David, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni) Mr. M. Idris Deen, M.P. Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad, M.P. (Absent-on leave) Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P. Mr. Kenrick Tyndall, M.P. Mr. Phillip Bynoe, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice) Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P. Mr. Hukumchand, M.P., a/k Parag Miss Joan C. Richards, M.P. Mr. John A. Fredericks, M.P. Mr. Ivan Peters, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica) Mr. Hubert K.H. Hyman, M.P. Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.

- (ii) <u>Working People's Alliance (2)</u>
- Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.
- Mr. Matheson Williams, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)
- (iii) <u>The United Force (1)</u>
- Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P.

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, A.A., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Visit of Secreta<u>ry</u>-Genera<u>l</u>, Commonwealth Parliamen<u>tary</u> <u>Association</u>

> The Speaker informed Members that the Secretary General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association from the C.P.A. Headquarters Secretariat in London (Mr. Arthur R. Donahoe, Q.C.) would be in the Caribbean and would also be making a visit to Guyana.

He was scheduled to arrive in Guyana on Wednesday, 31st January, and to depart from Guyana on Saturday, 3rd February, 1996.

A short programme was being prepared for the Visit.

(ii) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave from that day's sitting had been granted to the Honourable Members-

> Mr. Winslow Zephyr, and Mr. Aftabuddin Ahamad.

4.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

ITEM I - MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1996

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1996.

> The following Members spoke to the motion: Mr. Dunstan Barrow The Senior Minister of Health Mr. Deryck M.A. Bernard

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 4.53 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.32 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

- The following Members also spoke to the motion: The Senior Minister of Education and Cultural Development
 - Dr. Rupert Roopnarine
 - Mr. Shaik K.Z. Baksh
 - Mr. Hukumchand a/k Parag
 - The Senior Minister in the Ministry of the Public Works, Communications and Regional Development.
 - Mr. Andy Gouveia
 - Mr. Edward DaSilva

ADJOURNMENT

At 9.18 p.m., on a motion by the Senior Minister of Agriculture (Leader of the House), the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Wednesday, 31st January, 1996.

> D.C./JAGAN Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown.

30th January, 1996