NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 24TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE FIRST SESSION (1998 - 1999) OF THE SEVENTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD AT 2.00 P.M.

ON TUESDAY, 6TH APRIL, 1999

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (77)

Speaker (I)

The Hon. Derek C. Jagan, C.C.H., S.C., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's Progressive Party/Civic (47)

The Hon. Samuel A. A. Hinds, M.P., Prime Minister

The Hon. Reepu Daman Persaud, O.R., J.P., M.P., Minister of Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs

The Hon. Clement J. Rohee, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs

The Hon. Bharrat Jagdeo, M.P., Minister of Finance

- *The Hon. Charles R. Ramson, S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs
- *The Hon. Rev. Dr. Ramnauth D.A. Bisnauth, M.P., Minister of Education

The Hon. M. Shree Chan, M.P., Minister of Trade, Tourism and Industry

- *The Hon. Indranie Chandarpal, M.P., Minister of Human Services and Social Security
- *The Hon. Clinton C. Collymore, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Local Government
- *The Hon. F. Vibert DeSouza, M.P., Minister of Amerindian Affairs
- *The Hon. George E. Fung-On, M.P., Minister of the Public Service
- *The Hon. Dr. Henry B. Jeffrey, M.P., Minister of Health and Labour

The Hon. Moses V. Nagamootoo, J.P., M.P., Minister of Information

The Hon. Harripersaud Nokta, M.P., Minister of Local Government

*The Hon. Satyadeow Sawh, M.P., Minister of Livestock and Fisheries

The Hon. Gail Teixeira, M.P., Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports

- *The Hon. C. Anthony Xavier, M.P., Minister of Transport and Hydraulics
- *The Hon. Shaik K. Z. Baksh, M.P., Minister of Housing and Water
- *The Hon. J. Ronald Gajraj, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

*Non elected Minister

Mr. S. Feroze Mohamed, M.P., Chief Whip

Mr. Cyril C. Belgrave, M.P.

Mr. Donald Ramotar, M.P.

Mr. Fazil M. Ali, M.P.

Mr. Husman Alli, M.P.

Mr. Komal Chand, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Navindranauth O. Chandarpal, M.P.

Mr. Bernard C. DeSantos, S.C., M.P. (Absent)

Mrs. Shirley V. Edwards, J.P., M.P.

Dr. Hughley H. Hanoman, M.P.

Mr. Alston A. Kissoon, M.P.

Dr. Moti Lall, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Odinga N. Lumumba, M.P.

Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan, M.P.

Mr. Hari Narayen Ramkarran, S.C., M.P.

Dr. Leslie S. Ramsammy, M.P.

Mr. Lawrence E. Rodney, M.P (Absent - on leave)

Mrs. Philomena Sahoye-Shury, C.C.H., J.P., M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Local Government

Mrs. Pauline R. Sukhai, M.P.

Mr. Winslow M. Zephyr, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Dr. Bheri Ramsaran, M.P.

Mr. Joseph M. DeSouza, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)

Mr. Heeralall Mohan, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)

Mr. Ramratan, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Mr. Geoffrey A. Fraser, M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Mr. Ramsundar Sankat, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Mr. Eustace S. Rodrigues, M.S., M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas, M.P. (National Congress of Local Democratic Organs)

Members of the Minority (29)

(i) People's National Congress (25)

Mr. H. Desmond Hoyte, S.C., M.P.

Mr. Winston S. Murray, C.C.H., M.P.

Mr. Dunstan Barrow, M.P., Chief Whip

Mrs. Clarissa S. Riehl, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Mr. E. Lance Carberry, M.P.

Dr. Faith A. Harding, M.P.

Mr. Ivor Allen, M.P.

Mr. Kadim A. Khan, M.P.

Miss Jean M.G. Persico, A.A., M.P.

Mrs. Cyrilda A. DeJesus, M.P.

Mr. Andy Gouveia, M.P.

Mrs. Deborah J. Backer, M.P.

Mr. John S. DeFreitas, M.P.

Mr. Raphael G.C. Trotman, M.P.

Dr. Dalgleish Joseph, M.P.

Mrs. Volda A. Lawrence, M.P.

Mr. Joseph L. Hamilton, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Mr. Sherwood A. J. Lowe, M.P.

Mr. Andrew Hicks, M.P.

Mr. Neaz Subhan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Mr. Colin Bynoe, M.P.

Ms Sandra M. Adams, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Mr. Kelley Andres, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Mr. Thakechand Ramnauth, M.P.

Mr. Aubrey C. Norton, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

(ii) The United Force (2)

Mr. Manzoor Nadir, M.P. (Absent)

Mr. Matthew R. Charlie, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)

(iii) Alliance for Guyana (2)

Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, M.P.

Mr. Albertino Peters, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

OFFICERS

Mr. Frank A. Narain, C.C.H., Clerk of the National Assembly

Mr. Sherlock E. Isaacs, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

COMMENCEMENT OF SITTING

The Sitting commenced at 2.00 p.m.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>Times for Sittings</u>

The Speaker stated that it was agreed that during the budget debate and consideration of the Estimates in Committee of Supply, the Sitting, as was usual on such occasions, would be suspended for half an hour at 5.00 o'clock instead of at half past four and would not be suspended at six-thirty but would continue until the speakers agreed on for the day had been disposed of.

(ii) <u>Leave</u>

The Speaker announced that leave from that day's sitting had been granted to -

Mr. Aubrey Norton and

Mr. Neaz Subhan.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

MOTION FOR THE APPROVAL OF THE ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1999 (1999 BUDGET)

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1999.

The following Members spoke to the motion:

Mr. Winston Murray

The Prime Minister

Miss Jean M. G. Persico

Mr. Donald Ramotar

Mr. Kadim A. Khan.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 5.00 p.m., the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 5.31 p.m., the sitting was resumed.

The following Members also spoke to the motion:

The Minister of Housing and Water

Mr. Andy Gouveia

Mr. Odinga Lumumba

Mr. Andrew Hicks

Dr. Bheri Ramsaran

Mr. Colin Bynoe

Mr. Kumkaran Ramdas

Mr. Ramratan.

ADJOURNMENT

At 8.37 p.m., the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m., on Wednesday, 7th April, 1999.

D. C. JAGAN
Speaker of the National Assembly

PARLIAMENT OFFICE,
Public Buildings,
Georgetown.

6th April, 1999.