NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 18TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (1982) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON THURSDAY 1982-12-30

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (75)

Speaker (1)

* Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (62)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works, Transport and Housing
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Agriculture
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Matters

Senior Ministers (7)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National and Regional Development
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent)
- * Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Ministers (7)

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives
- Cde. J.N. Maitland-Singh, M.P., Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- * Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- * Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health
- * Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Labour, Manufacturing and Industrial Development

Ministers of State (2)

- Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sports, in the Ministry of Education
 - * Non elected Member

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

```
Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry
     of Works, Transport and Housing
```

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Other Members (26)

```
Cde. M. Ally, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Cde.M. Armogan, J.P., M.P.
Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
```

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.

Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.

Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P. de. H. Doobay, M.P. Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.

Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.

Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.

Cde. A. McRae, M.P.

Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.

Cde. S. Prashad, M.P.

Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.

Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.

Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.

Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.

Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.

Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

```
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.
```

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

```
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent)
Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)
```

Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)

Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo (Absent)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P. M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P. (Absent)

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cde. Ally and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting, and
- (b) Cde. Beniprashad up to 1983-01-16.

PUBLIC BUSINESS

$\underline{\mathtt{MOTION}}$

APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL PAPER NO. 4/1982

Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

In Committee of Supply

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the following motion:

BE IT RESOLVED:

That this National Assembly approves of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 4/1982 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates totalling \$35,099,150, for the period ended 1982-12-15.

After consideration of the Schedule the motion was put and carried.

Assembly resumed.

On a motion by the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, the Assembly adopted the following Resolution:

RESOLVED, That this National Assembly agree with the Committee of Supply in the following Resolution:

"RESOLVED, That this National Assembly approves of the proposals set out in Financial Paper No. 4/1982 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates totalling \$35,099,150, for the period ended 1982-12-15."

ADJOURNMENT

At 15:45 hrs, on a motion by the Vice-President, Party and State Matters, the Assembly was adjourned to a date to be fixed.

S. NARAIN
Speaker

(3

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1983-01-03