NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 19TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE SECOND SESSION (1982-1983) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

UN NONDAY 1983-01-17

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works, Transport and Housing
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Agriculture (Absent on leave)
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Matters (Absent on leave)

Senior Ministers (7)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National and Regional Development (Absent)
- *Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection (Absent)
- *Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- *Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs (Absent)
- *Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Ministers (6)

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives (Absent)
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- *Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
- *Cde. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President
- *Cde. R.A. Ran West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health (Absent)
- *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Labour, Manufacturing and Industrial Development

Ministers of State (2)

Cde. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection

/...

- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sports, in the Ministry of Education (Absent)
 - * Non elected Member

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

```
Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry
     of Works, Transport and Housing
```

- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Other Members (26)

```
Cde. M. Ally, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
```

Cde. M. Armogan, J.P., M.P.

Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.

Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.

Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.

Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.

Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.

Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.

Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.

Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.

Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.

Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.

Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P. (Absent - on leave)

Cde. A. McRae, M.P.

Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.

Cde. S. Prashad, M.P.

Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.

Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.

Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P. (Absent)

Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.

Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.

Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.

Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.

Cde. H.B. Walcott-Macimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip

Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.

Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P. (Absent)

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

```
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
```

Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)(Absent) Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)

Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 - Demerara/Mahaica)

Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)

Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)

Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)

Cde. D. Abrakam. M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)(Absent) Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo) (Absent)

Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)(Absent)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader (Absent)

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) <u>1983 Welcome</u>

As it was the first sitting of the year the Speaker took the opportunity to welcome all Members back and expressed the hope that there would be greater co-operation during 1983.

(ii) Resignation

The Speaker informed Members that he had received from Cde. Jean Maitland-Singh a letter dated 29th December, 1982, tendering her resignation as a Member of the National Assembly and that with her resignation a seat in the National Assembly became vacant. He had, therefore, in accordance with section 99A of the Representation of the People Act, Chapter 1:03, called upon the representative of the list of candidates from which Cde. Maitland-Singh's name had been extracted following the last general elections, to further extract from the said list the name of a person to fill the vacancy.

(iii) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to -

- (a) Cdes. Green, Ramsaroop, Gill-Mingo and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting, and
- (b) Cde. Beniprashad for two weeks from that sitting.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC. -

(a) By the <u>Vice-President</u>, <u>Works</u>, <u>Transport</u> and <u>Housing</u>:

Accounts of the Guyana Transport Services Limited for 1981.

(MT: 23/14/7)(Circulated)

(b) By the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance:

Financial Paper No. 1/1983 - Schedule of Supplementary Provision on the Current and Capital Estimates totalling \$20,675,571, for the period ended 1982-12-31.

(ST: 10/4III)(Circulated)

In terms of Standing Order No. 68(1), the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, named Thursday 1983-01-20, as the day for consideration of the Financial Paper in Committee of Supply.

ADJOURNMENT

At 14:04 hrs, on a motion by the Vice-President, Works, Transport and Housing, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Thursday 1983-01-20.

S. NARAIN 30119.

Speaker &

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1983-01-19