NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 4TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE TIRD SESSION (1983) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON TUESDAY 1983-02-15

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Speaker (1)

* Cde, Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly

Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

- Cde. S.S.. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works, Transport and Housing (Absent on leave)
- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Agriculture
- Cde. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Matters

Senior Ministers (7)

- Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education
- Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National and Regional Development
- * Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- * Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines
- * Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent)
- * Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs
- * Cde. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs

Ministers (6)

- Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives
- Cde. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance
- * Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister
- * Cde. H. Rashid, M.P, Minister in the Office of the President
- * Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.F., Minister of Health
- * Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Labour, Manufacturing and Industrial Development

Ministers of State (2)

- Cdo. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection
- Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sports, in the Ministry of Education
 - * Non elected Member

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

- Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works, Transport and Housing
- Cde. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education
- Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Other Members (26)

```
Cde. M. Ally, M.P.
```

- Cde. M. Armogan, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. B. Beniprashad, M.P. (Absent)
- Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
- Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
- Cde. J.P. Chowritmootoo, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
- Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
- Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
- Cde. A.B. Felix, M.P.
- Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
- Cde. P. Fredericks, M.P.
- Cde. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
- Cde. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
- Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
- Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. S. Prashad, M.P.
- Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
- Cde. P.A. Rayman, M.P.
- Cde. C.G. Sharma, J.P., M.P.
- Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
- Cde. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
- Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
- Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip
- Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.

Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)

- Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
- Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.

Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)

- Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 Barima/Waini)
- Cde. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 Pomeroon/Supenaam) (Absent on leave)
- Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 Essequibo Islands/West Demerara)
- Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4 Demerara/Mahaica)
- Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 Mahaica/Berbice)
- Cde. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 East Berbice/Corentyne)
- Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
- Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 Potaro/Siparuni) Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
- Cde. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region No. 10 Upper Demerara/Berbice)

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cde. Dr. C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cde. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Other Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. (Absent)

Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip

Cde. N. Persaud, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P.

Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P.

Cde. I. Basir, M.P.

Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P.

Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

Brondcast of Budget

The Speaker informed the Assembly that in accordance with the usual practice, permission had been granted to the Guyana Broadcasting Corporation to broadcast live at that sitting the Budget Presentation by the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance. The Corporation had also been given permission to record for subsequent broadcasts speeches which would be made by other Members of the National Assembly at the other sittings during the Budget debate. Such subsequent broadcasts would, however, have to be made in accordance with the approved practice, i.e. the time used for the broadcast of speeches would have to be allotted to the Members of the Assembly in the proportion to the Party representation in the Assembly.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS. ETC.

By the <u>Vice-President</u>, <u>Economic Planning and Finance</u>:

Estimates of the Revenues and Expenditure for the financial year 1983.

(Circulated)

MOTIONS RELATING TO THE BUSINESS OR SITTINGS OF THE ASSEMBLY AND MOVED BY A MINISTER

On a motion by the Vice-President, Party and State Matters, paragraph (2) of Standing Order No. 9 and paragraph (9) of Standing Order No. 52 was suspended to enable the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, to complete the reading of the Budget Speech uninterrupted and to enable the sitting to continue beyond 16:00 hrs if necessary, without being suspended.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

Presentation and First Reading

(1) GUYANA EXPORT PROMOTION COUNCIL BILL 1983 - Bill No. 5/1983

The Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read a first time:

> A Bill intituled An Act to establish the Guyana Export Promotion Council to promote export trade in Guyana.

(2) TAX (AMENDMENT) BILL 1983 - Bill No. 6/1983

The Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, on behalf of the Government, presented the following Bill which was read a first time:

A Bill intituled An Act to amend the Tax

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1983

In accordance with article 171(2) of the Constitution, the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, signified Cabinet's recommendation and moved the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for 1983. (See Appendix).

After the motion was proposed, the Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance, named Friday 1983-02-18 as the day for the resumption of the debate on the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 14:57 hrs, on a motion by the Vice-President, Party and State Matters, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Friday 1983-02-18.

S. NARAIN 16.
Speaker 3

PARLIAMENT OFFICE. Public Buildings, Georgetown. 1983-02-16