NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE 5TH SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY OF THE THIRD SESSION (1983) OF THE FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF GUYANA HELD

AT 14:00 hrs

ON FRIDA' 1983-32-18

IN THE PARLIAMENT CHAMBER, PUBLIC BUILDINGS, GEORGETOWN

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (74)

Spoaker (1)

*Cde. Sase Narain, O.R., J.P., M.P., Speaker of the National Assembly Members of the Government - People's National Congress (61)

Prime Minister (1)

Cde. Dr. P.A. Reid, O.E., M.P., Prime Minister

Other Vice-Presidents (4)

Cde. S.S. Naraine, A.A., M.P., Vice-President, Works, Transport and Housing (Absent - on leave)

- Cde. H.D. Hoyte, S.C., M.P., Vice-President, Economic Planning and Finance
- Cde. H. Green, M.P., Vice-President, Agriculture
- Cdc. B. Ramsaroop, M.P., Vice-President, Party and State Matters

Scnior Ministers (7)

Cde. R. Chandisingh, M.P., Minister of Education Cde. R.H.O. Corbin, M.P., Minister of National and Regional Development *Cde. F.E. Hope, M.P., Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection *Cde. H.O. Jack, M.P., Minister of Energy and Mines (Absent - on leave) *Cde. Dr. M. Shahabuddeen, O.R., S.C., M.P., Attorney General and Minister of Justice (Absent) *Cde. R.E. Jackson, M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs *Cdc. J.R. Thomas, M.P., Minister of Home Affairs Ministers (6) Cde. U.E. Johnson, M.P., Minister of Co-operatives Cdc. Sallahuddin, M.P., Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance *Cde. Y.V. Harewood-Benn, M.P., Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister *Cdc. H. Rashid, M.P., Minister in the Office of the President *Cde. R.A. Van West-Charles, M.P., Minister of Health *Cde. K.W.E. Denny, M.P., Minister of Labour, Manufacturing and Industrial Development Ministers of State (2)

Cdc. M. Corrica, M.P., Minister of State in the Ministry of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection.

Cde. R.C. Fredericks, A.A., M.P., Minister of State for Youth and Sporte, in the Ministry of Education

* Non elected Member

Parliamentary Secretaries (3)

```
Cde. A.W. Bend-Kirton-Holder, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry
     of Works, Transport and Housing
Cdc. D.A.N. Ainsworth, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
     Education
Cde. B. Bhaggan, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of
     Foreign Affairs
Other Members (26)
Cde. M. Ally, M.P. (Absent - on leave)
Cde. M. Armogan, J.P., M.P.
Cdc. B. Beniprashad, M.P. (Absent)
Cde. J.B. Caldeira, M.P.
Cde. A.A. Chin, M.P.
Cde. J.P. Chowritmostoo, J.P., M.P.
Cde. O.E. Clarke, M.P.
Cde. E.B. Davidson, M.P.
Cde. H. Doobay, M.P.
Cdc. A.B. Felix, M.P.
Cde. E.H.A. Fowler, M.P.
Edc. P. Fredericks, M.P.
Cdc. E.F. Gilbert, M.P.
Cdc. J. Gill-Mingo, M.P.
Cde. A. McRae, M.P.
Cde. J.M. Munroe, J.P., M.P.
Cdc. S. Preshad, M.P.
Cde. R.N. Primo, M.P.
Cdc. P.A.Rayman, M.P.
Cdc. C.G. Sharma, J.P., N.P.
Cde. H.L.B. Singh, M.P.
Cdc. S.H. Sukhu, M.S., M.P.
Cde. B. Tiwari, M.P.
Cde. C. Vandenburg, M.P.
Cde. H.B. Walcott-Nacimento, J.P., M.P., Government Chief Whip
Cde. R.E. Williams, M.P.
Members from the National Congress of Local Democratic Organs (2)
Cde. R. Bishop, M.S., M.P.
Cde. B. Latchminarayan, M.P.
Members from the Regional Democratic Councils (10)
Cde. K.N. Jones, M.P. (Region No. 1 - Barima/Waini)
Cdc. K.V. Jairam, M.P. (Region No. 2 - Pomeroon/Supenaam)
Cde. C.A. Singh, M.P. (Region No. 3 - Essequibo Islands/West
     Demerara)
Cde. W. Bipat, M.P. (Region No. 4
                                   Demorara/Mahaica)
Cde. H.I. London, M.S., M.P. (Region No. 5 - Mahaica/Berbice)
Cdc. I. Chowritmootoo, M.P. (Region No. 6 - East Berbice/Corentyne)
Cde. N.R. Charles, M.P. (Region No. 7 - Cuyuni/Mazaruni)
Cde. D. Abraham, M.P. (Region No. 8 - Potaro/Siparuni)
Cde. A. Dorrick, M.P. (Region No. 9 - Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo)
Cdc. D. Hinds, M.P. (Region Ng. 10 - Upper Demerara/Berbice)
```

Members of the Minority (12)

(i) People's Progressive Party (10)

Minority Leader (1)

Cdc. Dr, C. Jagan, M.P., Minority Leader

Deputy Speaker (1)

Cdc. Ram Karran, M.P., Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly

Ather Members (8)

Cde. J. Jagan, M.P. Cde. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P., M.P., Minority Chief Whip Cde. N. Persaud, M.P. Cde. C.C. Collymore, M.P. Cde. S.F. Mohamed, M.P. Cde. I. Basir, M.P. Cde. C.C. Belgrave, M.P. Cde. Dalchand, J.P., M.P.(Absent - on leave)

(ii) United Force (2)

Mr. M.F. Singh, C.C.H., J.P., M.P. (Absent - on leave) Mr. M.A. Abraham, M.P.

OFFICERS

Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. F.A. Narain, A.A. Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, Cde. M.B. Henry

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE SPEAKER

(i) Leave

The Speaker announced that leave had been granted to Cdes. Jack, Ally and Mr. M.F. Singh for that day's sitting.

(ii) Hours of Sitting of the Assembly

The Speaker informed Members that during the debate on the Budget the Assembly would be sitting from 14:00 hrs to 16:00 hrs, 16:30 hrs to 18:30 hrs and 20:00 hrs to 22:00 hrs.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND REPORTS, ETC.

By the <u>Vice-President</u>, Party and State Matters, on behalf of <u>the Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection</u>:

Public Corporations Order 1982 (No. 47), made under section 5(4) of the Public Corporations Act, Chapter 19:05, on 16th June, 1982, and published in the Gazette on 28th August, 1982. (Circulated)

PUBLIC BUSINESS

MOTION

APPROVAL OF ESTIMATES OF EXPENDITURE FOR 1983

Assembly resumed the debate on the motion for the approval of the Estimates of Expenditure for the financial year 1983.

Cde. N. Persaud and the Minister, Finance, in the Ministry of Economic Planning and Finance, spoke to the motion.

The Vice-President, Agriculture, was speaking to the motion when the time for the suspension of the sitting was reached.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 16:00 hrs the sitting was suspended for refreshments.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 16.30 hrs the sitting was resumed.

The Vice-President, Agriculture, continued and concluded his speech.

The Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, Cdc. J. Jagan, the Minister of Co-operatives and Cde. Basir spoke to the motion.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 18:34 hrs the sitting was suspended.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 20:00 hrs the sitting was resumed.

Cde. Mohamed, the Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, Cde. Collymore, the Minister of Internal Trade and Consumer Protection, Mr. M.A. Abraham, Cdes. C. Singh and Gill-Mingo spoke to the motion.

ADJOURNMENT

At 22:30 hrs, on a motion by the Vice-President, Party and State Matters, the Assembly was adjourned to 14:00 hrs on Monday, 1983-02-21.

S. ARAIN

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgatown. 1983-02-21