

SECOND PARLIAMENT.OF GUYANA

MINUTES AND ORDER PAPERS

FOURTH SESSION

SECOND PARLIAMENT NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

FOURTH SESSION/

1972

/4TH NOVEMBER, 1972
T0
7TH JUNE, 1973

ORDER PAPER

VOL. 23

IST SITTING OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY /

TUESDAY, 14th NOVEMBER, 1972

AT 2.00 P.M.

-

PARLIAMENT CHAMBER

PROCLAMATION SUMMONING PARLIAMENT

PRAYERS

SUSPENSION OF SITTING OF NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

MAIN ENTRANCE TO PUBLIC BUILDINGS

ARRIVAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS. CHUNG

FORECOURT OF PUBLIC BUILDINGS

MORASS HIMIOT

INSPECTION OF GUARD OF HONOUR BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT

PARLIAMENT CHAMBER

RESUMPTION OF SITTING OF NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

ENTRANCE OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MPS. CHUNG.

ADDRESS BY HI EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT

WITHDRAWAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS. CHUNG.

ADJOURNMENT OF SITTING OF NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

NO DE ARATERICA

FOURTH SESSION

19**7**2

MINUTES of the Proceedings of the 1st Sitting of the National Assembly under the Constitution of Guyana, held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Demerara,

AT 2.00 P.M.

ON

TUESDAY, 14TH NOVEMBER, 1972

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

<u>Speaker</u>

His Honour the Speaker, Mr. Sase Narain, J.P.

Members of the Government <u>People's National Congress (37)</u>

<u>Elected Ministers (12)</u>

The Honourable L.F.S. Burnham, S.C., Prime Minister

Dr. the Honourable P.A. Reid, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Development and Agriculture

- The Honourable M. Kasim, A.A., Minister of State for Agriculture
- The Honourable H.D. Hoyte, S.C., Minister of Works and Communications
- The Honourable W.G. Carrington, Minister of Labour and Social Security
- The Honourable Miss S.M. Field-Ridley, Minister of Information, Culture and Youth
- The Honourable B. Ramsaroop, Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House
- The Honourable D.A. Singh, Minister of Health (Absent)
- The Honourable O.E. Clarke, Minister of Home Affairs
- The Honourable C.V. Mingo, Minister of State for the Public Service
- The Honourable W. Haynes, Minister of Co-operatives and Community Development
- The Honourable A. Salim, Minister of Local Government

Appointed Ministers (7)

The Honourable S.S. Ramphal, S.C., Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney-General The Honourable H. Green, Minister of Public Affairs The Honourable H.O. Jack, Minister of Mines and Forests The Honourable Miss C.L. Baird, Minister of Education The Honourable F.E. Hope, Minister of Finance and Trade Dr. the Honourable K.F.S. King, Minister of Economic Development (Absent) The Honourable S.S. Naraine, A.A., Minister of Housing and Reconstruction

Parliamentary Secretaries(4)

- Mr. J.G. Joaquin, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Finance and Trade
- Mr. P. Duncan, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of National Development and Agriculture
- Mr. J.R. Thomas, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Information, Culture and Youth
- Mr. C.E. Wrights, J.P., Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Works and Communications

Other Members (14)

Mr. J.N. Aaron Miss M.M. Ackman, Government Whip Mr. K. Bancroft, Mr. N.J. Bissember Mr. J. Budhoo, J.P. Mr. L.I. Chan-A-Sue Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. E.F. Correia Mr. E.H.A. Fowler Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. R.J. Jordan Mr. S.M. Saffee Mr. R.C. Van Sluytman Mr. M. Zaheeruddeen, J.P. Mrs. L.E. Willems

Members of the Opposition (23)

People's Progressive Party (17)

Dr. C.B. Jagan, Leader of the Opposition Mr. Ram Karran Mr. R. Chandisingh Dr. F.H.W. Ramsahoye, S.C. (Absent) Mr. D.C. Jagan, J.P., Deputy Speaker Mr. E.M.G. Wilson Mr. A.M. Hamid, J.P., Opposition Whip Mr. G.H. Lall, J.P. Mr. M.Y. Ally Mr. Reepu Daman Persaud, J.P. Mr. E.M. Stoby, J.P. Mr. R. Ally Mr. Balchand Persaud Mr. Bhola Persaud Mr. I.R. Remington, J.P. Mr. L.A. Durant Mr. V. Teekah

United Force (3)

Mr. M.F. Singh Mrs. E. DaSilva Mr. J.A. Sutton

Independents (3)

Mr. R.E. Checks Mr. E.L. Ambrose Mrs. L.M. Branco

DFFICERS

Mr. F.A. Narain, Clerk of the National Assembly Mr. M.B. Henry, Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly

PRUCLAMATION SUMMONING THE SESSION OF PARLIAMENT

The Clerk read the Proclamation made by the President on the 4th of November, 1972, and published in the Gazette on the 7th of November, 1972, proclaiming that a session of Parliament shall be held in the Parliament Chamber at the Public Buildings, Georgetown, Guyana, and shall begin at 2.00 o'clock in the afternoon on Tuesday, the 14th of November, 1972.

PRAYERS

The Clerk read Prayers.

SUSPENSION OF SITTING

At 2.05 p.m. the sitting was suspended to enable the Speaker to receive Their Excellencies the President and Mrs. Chung.

RESUMPTION OF SITTING

At 2.30 p.m. the sitting was resumed.

ARRIVAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS. CHUNG

Their Excellencies the President and Mrs. Chung entered the Chamber and took their placeson the Dais.

ADDRESS BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE PRESIDENT

His Excellency read the Address for the present Session of Parliament presented to him by the Prime Minister and thereafter presented the copy to His Honour the Speaker.

THANKS TO HIS EXCELLENCY

His Honour the Speaker, on behalf of the Members of the Assembly, thanked His Excellency.

WITHDRAWAL OF THEIR EXCELLENCIES THE PRESIDENT AND MRS CHUNG

Thereafter, Their Excellencies withdrew from the Chamber.

PRESENTATION OF PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS TO THE ASSEMBLY

His Honour the Speaker presented the President's Address to the Assembly.

ADJOURNMENT

At 2.55 p.m., on a motion by the Minister without Portfolio and Leader of the House, the Assembly was adjourned to 2.00 p.m. on Monday, the 20th of November, 1972.

5. NARAIN

PARLIAMENT OFFICE, Public Buildings, Georgetown. 17th November, 1972.