### Published on 9th October, 1980

GUYANA No. 71 of 1980

#### ORDER

#### Made Under

### THE REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE ACT

(Cap. 1:03)

IN EXERCISE OF THE POWERS CONFERRED UPON ME BY SECTION 6
OF THE REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE ACT AND BY VIRTUE
AND IN EXERCISE OF ALL OTHER POWERS ENABLING ME IN THAT
BEHALF. I HEREBY MAKE THE FOLLOWING ORDER:—

Citation.

1. This Order may be cited as the National Assembly Elections (Constitution of Polling Districts) Order 1980.

Polling districts.

- 2. (1) Guyana shall be divided into ten polling districts.
- (2) Each of the ten registration districts as constituted under the National Registration (Districts) Order 1980 and corresponding respectively to the ten regions of Guyana, shall be a polling district for the purposes of paragraph (1).
- (3) Each polling district shall be distinguished by the name of the corresponding region as set out in the Schedule and shall consist of the polling divisions which are specified in that Schedule by reference to the registration divisions of the registration district which constitutes that polling district.

Rovocation of National Assembly Elections (Constitution of Polling Districts) Order Cap. 1:03.

3. The National Assembly Elections (Constitution of Polling Districts) Order\* is hereby revoked.

<sup>\*</sup>Cap. 1:03 Subsidiary Legislation.

## **SCHEDULE**

# POLLING DISTRICTS

- 1. REGION NO. 1 OR THE BARIMA/WAINI REGION consisting of twenty polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 1.
- 2. REGION NO. 2 OR THE POMEROON/SUPENAAM REGION consisting of thirty-eight polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 2.
- 3. REGION NO. 3 OR THE ESSEQUIBO ISLANDS/WEST DEMERARA REGION

consisting of one hundred and fifteen polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 3.

- REGION NO. 4 OR THE DEMERARA/MAHAICA REGION
  consisting of two hundred and seventy-five polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 4.
- 5. REGION NO. 5 OR THE MAHAICA/BERBICE REGION consisting of sixty-four polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District or Region No. 5.
- 6. REGION NO. 6 OR THE EAST BERBICE/CORENTYNE REGION consisting of one hundred and thirty-two polling divisions being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 6.
- REGION NO. 7 OR THE CUYUNI/MAZARUNI REGION
   consisting of thirty-four polling divisions, being the registration divisions of
   the Registration District for Region No. 7.
- 8. REGION NO. 8 OR THE POTARO/SIPARUNI REGION consisting of thirteen polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 8.
- 9. REGION NO. 9 OR THE UPPER TAKUTU/UPPER ESSEQUIBO REGION

consisting of twenty-three polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 9.

10. REGION NO. 10 OR THE UPPER DEMERARA/BERBICE REGION consisting of fifty-four polling divisions, being the registration divisions of the Registration District for Region No. 10.

Made this 9th day of October, 1980.

C. V. Mingo, Minister of Home Affairs.